

Richard P. Stephenson

T 416.646.4325 Asst 416.646.7417

F 416.646.4335

E richard.stephenson@paliareroland.com www.paliareroland.com

File 10329

January 19, 2010

## **VIA RESS FILING AND COURIER**

Ms. Kirsten Walli **Board Secretary** Ontario Energy Board P.O. Box 2319 2300 Yonge Street, 27th Floor

Toronto, Ontario M4P 1E4

Re: **Notice of Application and Hearing Electricity Transmission Licence Chatham-Kent Transmission Inc.** Board File No. EB-2010-0351

On January 4, 2011, we applied on behalf of the Power Workers' Union ("PWU") for Observer status in the above-referenced proceeding. Only after that date, did we receive a copy of the redacted application, together with the Board's Procedural Order No. 1.

Upon review of these materials, it is apparent that the PWU's interest in this application is greater than initially understood. The PWU has been an active participant in every OEB proceeding dealing with transmission rules and cost responsibility. The PWU represents the majority of employees of transmitters in the Province of Ontario. The PWU is concerned that the application as framed may not be consistent with the provisions of the Transmission System Code and/or applicable statutory or regulatory provisions. As a result, PWU seeks Intervenor status in the proceeding in order that it may file interrogatories and make submissions.

The PWU has retained Judy Kwik of Elenchus Research Associates as consultant and Paliare Roland for legal representation in this proceeding. Please provide copies of all communications with regard to the PWU's participation to:

> John Sprackett Staff Officer, Office of the President Power Workers' Union 244 Eglinton Avenue East Toronto, ON M4P 1K2 e-mail: spracket@pwu.ca

Chris G. Paliare Ian J. Roland Ken Rosenberg Linda R. Rothstein Richard P. Stephenson Nick Coleman Margaret L. Waddell Donald K. Eady Gordon D. Capern

John Monger Odette Soriano

Lily I. Harmer Andrew Lokan

Andrew C. Lewis Megan E. Shortreed Massimo Starnino

Karen Jones Robert A. Centa

Nini Jones Jeffrey Larry

**Emily Lawrence** Denise Sayer

Danny Kastner Tina H. Lie

Jean-Claude Killey

Jodi Martin Michael Fenrick

Susan Brown

Nasha Nijhawan

HONORARY COUNSEL Ian G. Scott, Q.C., O.C. (1934 - 2006)

Telephone: (416) 322-4787

Fax: 416-481-7914

And,

Judy Kwik

Senior Consultant

Elenchus Research Associates 34 King Street East, Suite 600 Toronto, Ontario M5C 2X8 e-mail: <a href="mailto:jkwik@elenchus.ca">jkwik@elenchus.ca</a> Telephone: 416-348-8777

Fax: 416-348-9930

And,

Bayu Kidane Consultant

Elenchus Research Associates 34 King Street East, Suite 600 Toronto, Ontario M5C 2X8 e-mail: <a href="mailto:bkidane@elenchus.ca">bkidane@elenchus.ca</a> Telephone: 416-348-0666

Fax: 416-348-9930

And,

Richard Stephenson

Counsel

Paliare Roland

250 University Avenue, Suite 510

Toronto, Ontario M5H 3E5

e-mail: Richard.Stephenson@paliareroland.com

Telephone: 416-646-4325

Fax: 416-646-4335

We appreciate your consideration in this matter.

PALIARE ROLAND ROSENBERG ROTHSTEIN LLP

Original Signed By

Richard P. Stephenson RPS:jr encl.

## Via Email:

cc: Chatham-Kent Transmission Inc.

Attention: Mr. David Kenney email: davekenney@ckhydro.com

John Sprackett Judy Kwik Bayu Kidane



Chris G. Paliare

## **List of PWU Employers**

Algoma Power

**AMEC Nuclear Safety Solutions** 

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (Chalk River Laboratories)

BPC District Energy Investments Limited Partnership

Brant County Power Incorporated Brighton Beach Power Limited

Brookfield Power - Mississagi Power Trust

Bruce Power Inc.

Capital Power Corporation Calstock Power Plant
Capital Power Corporation Kapuskasing Power Plant
Capital Power Corporation Nipigon Power Plant
Capital Power Corporation Tunis Power Plant

lan J. Roland Capital Power Corporation Coor Nuclear Services

Ken Rosenberg
Linda R. Rothstein

Coor Nuclear Services

Corporation of the City of Dryden – Dryden Municipal Telephone

Corporation of the County of Brant. The

Corporation of the County of Brant, The

Richard P. Stephenson Coulter Water Meter Service Inc.

Nick Coleman CRU Solutions Inc.

Margaret L. Waddell Ecaliber (Canada)

Donald K. Eady Electrical Safety Authority

Gordon D. Capern

Gordon D. Capern

FO. 5

ES Fox

Lily I. Harmer

Andrew Lokan

John Monger

Great Lakes Power Limited

Grimsby Power Incorporated
Halton Hills Hydro Inc.

Odette Soriano Hydro One Inc.

Andrew C. Lewis

Independent Electricity System Operator

Inergi LP

Megan E. Shortreed Infrastructure Health and Safety Association
Massimo Starnino Innisfil Hydro Distribution Systems Limited
Karen Jones Kenora Hydro Electric Corporation Ltd.

Robert A. Centa Kincardine Cable TV Ltd.

Nini Jones Kinectrics Inc.

Kitchener-Wilmot Hydro Inc.
Jeffrey Larry

Lake Superior Power Inc. (A Brookfield Company)

Emily Lawrence London Hydro Corporation

Denise Sayer Middlesex Power Distribution Corporation

Danny Kastner Milton Hydro Distribution Inc.
Tina H. Lie New Horizon System Solutions

Jean-Claude Killey

Newmarket Hydro Ltd.

Norfalk Rever Distribution

Norfolk Power Distribution Inc.

Jodi Martin Nuclear Waste Management Organization

Michael Fenrick
Susan Brown
Nasha Nijhawan
Ontario Power Generation Inc.
Orangeville Hydro Limited
Portlands Energy Centre

PowerStream PUC Services

HONORARY COUNSEL Sioux Lookout Hydro Inc.

lan G. Scott, Q.C., O.C. Sodexho Canada Ltd.

(1934 - 2006) TransAlta Generation Partnership O.H.S.C. Vertex Customer Ma (Canada) Limited

Whitby Hydro Energy Services CorporationTransAlta Generation Partnership O.H.S.C.

Vertex Customer Management (Canada) Limited Whitby Hydro Energy Services Corporation

Doc 778032v1