mccarthy

Toronto ON M5K 1E6 Canada Tel: 416-362-1812

McCarthy Tétrault LLP Box 48, Suite 5300

Toronto Dominion Bank Tower

Fax: 416-868-0673

George Vegh

Direct Line: 416 601-7709 Direct Fax: 416 868-0673 Email: gvegh@mccarthy.ca

July 26, 2012

Ontario Energy Board 2300 Yonge Street P.O. Box 2319 **Suite 2700** Toronto, ON M4P 1E4

Attention: Ms Kirsten Walli

Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Walli:

Re: Hvdro One Networks Inc.

Change to Electricity Distribution Rates DRR Task Force Letter of Intervention

EB-2012-0136

We are counsel to the Distribution Regulation Review Task-Force (the "DRR Task Force").

The DRR Task Force is an initiative of the leading gas and electricity distribution utilities in Ontario aimed at encouraging thought and discussion on how the Ontario Energy Board's (the "Board" or the "OEB") approach to regulating energy distribution can be enhanced. These utilities are Enersource Hydro Mississauga Inc., Horizon Utilities Corporation, Hydro Ottawa Limited, PowerStream Inc., Toronto Hydro Electric System Limited ("THESL"), Veridian Connections Inc., Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc., Hydro One Networks ("Hydro One"), and Union Gas Limited.

This proceeding addresses the treatment of the OEB's Incremental Capital Module ("ICM"). The members of the DRR Task Force are all subject to the Board's regulatory treatment of capital investment between cost of service rebasings and are therefore impacted by how the ICM is in interpreted and applied. The Task Force has worked on developing solutions to the regulatory treatment of capital investment for over the last two years.

The DRR Task Force (with the exception of Hydro One (the Applicant in this proceeding) and THESL (which has a similar proceeding before the Board)) requests intervenor status with respect to this proceeding. The DRR Task Force will not be seeking an award of costs.

The DRR Task Force's intervention will permit the presentation of a common viewpoint among members where there are common views. Some members of the DRR Task Force have either already intervened separately or may do so in the future.

Notice

We request that copies of all documents and correspondence pertaining to this proceeding be served on the DRR Task Force and its counsel as follows:



DRR TASK FORCE MEMBERS

Michael Lister
Manager, Regulatory Policy & Strategy
Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc.
500 Consumers Road
P.O. Box 650
Scarborough, Ontario M1K 5E3
Telephone: (416) 495-5043
Michael.Lister@enbridge.com

Norm Ryckman
Director, Regulatory Affairs
Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc.
500 Consumers Road
P.O. Box 650
Scarborough, Ontario M1K 5E3
Telephone: (416) 753-6280
norm.ryckman@enbridge.com

Gia M. DeJulio Director, Regulatory Affairs Enersource Hydro Mississauga Inc. 3240 Mavis Road Mississauga, Ontario L5C 3K1 Telephone: 905.283.4098 gdejulio@enersource.com

John Basilio Chief Financial Officer Horizon Utilities Corporation 55 John Street N. Hamilton, ON L8R 3M8 Telephone: (905) 317-4783 jgbasilio@horizonutilities.com

Indy J. Butany-DeSouza Vice President, Regulatory Affairs Horizon Utilities Corporation 55 John Street N. Hamilton, ON L8R 3M8 Tel: (905) 317-4765 indy.butany@horizonutilities.com



Christine Dade
Horizon Utilities Corporation
55 John Street N.
Hamilton, ON L8R 3M8
Talaphana: 905 523 6611 avi

Telephone: 905-522-6611 ext. 2434 christine.dade@horizonutilities.com

Neil Freeman Vice-President, Business Development Horizon Utilities Corporation 55 John Street N. Hamilton, ON L8R 3M8 Telephone: (905) 317-4780 neil.freeman@horizonutilities.com

Jane Scott Manager, Rates and Revenue Hydro Ottawa Limited 3025 Albion Road North PO Box 8700 Ottawa, ON K1G 3S4 Telephone: (613) 738-5499 ext. 7499

janescott@hydroottawa.com

Patrick Hoey Hydro Ottawa Limited 3025 Albion Road North PO Box 8700 Ottawa, ON K1G 3S4

Telephone: (613) 738-4599 x 7472 PatrickHoey@hydroottawa.com

sarah.griffiths@powerstream.ca

Sarah Griffiths
Manager - Regulatory and Government Affairs
PowerStream Inc.
161 Cityview Blvd.
Vaughan ON L4H 0A9
Telephone: (905) 532-4527



Colin Macdonald VP, Rates & Regulatory Affairs PowerStream Inc. 161 Cityview Boulevard Vaughan, ON L4H 0A9 Telephone: (905) 532-4649 colin.macdonald@powerstream.ca

Mark Kitchen
Director, Regulatory Affairs
Union Gas Limited
50 Keil Drive North
Chatham, ON N7M 5M1
Telephone: (519) 436-5275
MKitchen@uniongas.com

Patrick McMahon Manager, Regulatory Research and Records Union Gas Limited 50 Keil Drive North Chatham, ON N7M 5M1 Telephone: (519) 436-5325 pmcmahon@uniongas.com

George Armstrong Manager, Regulatory Affairs and Key Projects Veridian Connections 55 Taunton Road East Ajax, ON L1T 3V3 Telephone: (905) 427-9870 x2202

garmstrong@veridian.on.ca

Steve Zebrowski Regulatory & Key Projects Analyst Veridian Connections Inc. 55 Taunton Road East Ajax, ON L1T 3V3 Bus: (905) 427-9870 x3274 szebrowski@veridian.on.ca



AND TO

George Vegh
Telephone: (416) 601-7709
gvegh@mccarthy.ca

McCarthy Tétrault LLP Toronto Dominion Bank Tower Suite 5300, Box 48 Toronto, ON M5K 1E6

We thank you for your attention to this matter and we trust that this letter will be sufficient for granting the DRR Task Force intervenor status in this proceeding. Should you have any questions or require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Signed in the original

George Vegh

c. The Applicant:

Hydro One Networks Inc. 8th Floor, South Tower 483 Bay Street Toronto, ON M5G 2P5

Attention: Mr. Pasquale Catalano

Regulatory Coordinator - Regulatory Affairs

Email: regulatory@hydroone.com

Counsel for the Applicant:

Mr. D.H. Rogers, Q.C. Rogers Partners, LLP 100 Wellington Street West Suite 500, P.O. Box 255 Toronto, ON M5K 1J5

Email: don.rogers@rogerspartners.com