Ontario Energy Board P.O. Box 2319 2300 Yonge Street 27<sup>th</sup> Floor Toronto ON M4P 1E4 Telephone: 416-481-1967 Facsimile: 416-440-7656 Toll free: 1-888-632-6273 Commission de l'énergie de l'Ontario C.P. 2319 2300, rue Yonge 27° étage Toronto ON M4P 1E4 Téléphone: 416-481-1967 Télécopieur: 416-440-7656 Numéro sans frais: 1-888-632-6273



**BY MAIL and EMAIL** 

September 18, 2013

Kim Warren Vice President, Operations & Chief Operating Officer Independent Electricity System Operator Station A, Box 4474 Toronto, ON M5W 4E5

Dear Mr. Warren:

## Re: NERC Reliability Standard CIP-004-3a

This letter is in response to your letter of August 8, 2013 and supporting material regarding the above-referenced matter. Your letter describes the circumstances surrounding the late posting by the IESO of North American Electric Reliability Corporation ("NERC") reliability standard CIP-004-3a pertaining to cyber security. The reliability standard was the subject of a NERC petition that was approved by order of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission in December 2012, and is already in force in the United States.

The reliability standard was posted by the IESO on July 19, 2013. The period within which an application for review of the reliability standard may be filed with the Board under section 36.2(3) of the *Electricity Act, 1998* has now lapsed. Your letter suggests that a determination by the Board that it will not review the reliability standard will enable the reliability standard to become enforceable in Ontario, with no risk to Ontario reliability and no undue burden on Ontario entities.

Please be advised that the Board has determined that it will not initiate a review of reliability standard CIP-004-3a on its own motion.

Any questions relating to this letter should be directed to Laurie Reid at <u>Laurie.Reid@ontarioenergyboard.ca</u> or at 416-440-7623. The Board's toll-free number is 1-888-632-6273.

Yours truly,

Original Signed By

Kirsten Walli Board Secretary

M.A. Aldred, Ontario Energy Board Mary-Anne.Aldred@ontarioenergyboard.ca
L.E. Reid, Ontario Energy Board laurie.reid@ontarioenergyboard.ca
R. Stewart, Independent Electricity System Operator roy.stewart@ieso.ca
J. Savage, Independent Electricity System Operator Jessica.savage@ieso.ca
L. Kula, Independent Electricity System Operator Leonard.kula@ieso.ca
B. Constantinescu, Independent Electricity System Operator
Barbara.constantinescu@ieso.ca
M. Falvo, Independent Electricity System Operator mike.falvo@ieso.ca