# **Ontario Energy Board Commission de l'énergie de l'Ontario**

## DECISION AND ORDER ON COST AWARDS

EB-2015-0113 & EB-2015-0251

## WHITBY HYDRO ELECTRIC

Applications for an order approving just and reasonable rates and other charges for electricity distribution to be effective January 1, 2016.

**BEFORE: Allison Duff** 

**Presiding Member** 

**Victoria Christie** 

Member

January 25, 2016

#### INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY

Whitby Hydro Electric Corporation (Whitby Hydro) filed two applications with the Ontario Energy Board (OEB) on August 13, 2015 and August 20, 2015. The first, EB-2015-0113, seeks approval for changes to Whitby Hydro's distribution rates to be effective January 1, 2016. The second application, EB-2015-0251, is to refund a balance in a deferral account to customers.

The OEB granted the Vulnerable Energy Consumers Coalition (VECC) intervenor status and cost award eligibility in relation to Whitby Hydro's request to dispose of amounts in account 1576.

On December 10, 2015, the OEB issued its Decision and Rate Order, in which it set out the process for VECC to file its cost claim, for Whitby Hydro to object to the claim and for VECC to respond to any objection raised by Whitby Hydro.

The OEB received the cost claim from VECC. No objection was received from Whitby Hydro.

### **OEB Findings**

The OEB has reviewed VECC's cost claim and finds that VECC is eligible for 100% of its reasonably incurred cost of participating in this proceeding. The OEB finds that VECC's claim is reasonable and Whitby Hydro shall reimburse VECC for its costs.

#### THE ONTARIO ENERGY BOARD ORDERS THAT:

- 1. Pursuant to section 30 of the *Ontario Energy Board Act, 1998*, Whitby Hydro shall immediately pay the Vulnerable Energy Consumers Coalition \$1,263.15.
- 2. Pursuant to section 30 of the *Ontario Energy Board Act*, 1998, Whitby Hydro shall pay the OEB's costs of, and incidental to, this proceeding immediately upon receipt of the OEB's invoice.

**DATED** at Toronto January 25, 2016

### **ONTARIO ENERGY BOARD**

Original signed by

Kirsten Walli Board Secretary