Ontario Energy Board

P.O. Box 2319 2300 Yonge Street 27th Floor

Toronto ON M4P 1E4
Telephone: 416-481-1967
Facsimile: 416-440-7656
Toll free: 1-888-632-6273

Commission de l'énergie de l'Ontario

C.P. 2319 2300, rue Yonge 27^e étage

Toronto ON M4P 1E4 Téléphone: 416-481-1967 Télécopieur: 416-440-7656

Numéro sans frais: 1-888-632-6273



BY E-MAIL AND WEB POSTING

February 9, 2016

TO: All Rate Regulated Electricity Distributors

Intervenors in the Canadian Distributed Antenna Systems Coalition Proceeding (EB-2011-0120)

Parties to the Motion to Review and Vary Decision EB-2013-0416/EB-2014-0247 as it relates to the Hydro One Networks Inc. pole attachment charges (EB-2015-0141)

Intervenors in Hydro Ottawa Limited Incentive Regulation Proceeding (EB-2015-0004)

Intervenors in Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited (THESL) Wireless Attachment Proceeding (EB-2013-0234)

Intervenors in THESL Incentive Regulation Proceeding (EB-2014-0116)

All Interested Parties

RE: Review of Wireline Pole Attachment Charges (EB-2015-0304)

This letter establishes the composition of the Pole Attachments Working Group (PAWG) and provides more information regarding the Pole Attachment consultation process.

Background

On November 5, 2015, the OEB issued a letter announcing that the OEB is initiating a comprehensive policy review of miscellaneous rates and charges applied by electricity distributors. The letter also indicated that the OEB will prioritize the review of wireline pole attachments and sought expressions of interest to participate in the PAWG with the

purpose to provide advice on the technical aspects and related details to be addressed in respect of pole attachments.

Working Group Membership

The OEB received nominations from 16 organizations representing electricity distributors, consumer groups and the wireline industry. The letters received are <u>posted</u> on the OEB website.

The OEB has selected nine organizations to participate in the PAWG to keep the size of the group more conducive to discussion. The working group will be comprised of the following parties:

	Organization	Primary
		Representative(s)
	Electricity Distributors	
1	Hydro One Networks Inc.	John Boldt
2	Cornerstone Hydro Electric Concepts	Roy Rogers
	Association Inc. ¹	
3	Hydro Ottawa Limited	Pamela Jones
4	London Hydro	Jagoda Borovickic
5	Horizon Utilities	David Haddock
	Ratepayers Groups	
6	School Energy Coalition	Mark Rubenstein
7	Vulnerable Energy Consumer's Coalition	William Harper
	Carrier Companies	
8	BH Telecom	G. Chris Eby
9	The Carriers ²	
	Cogeco Cable Canada LP	Tim Brown
	Rogers Communication	Michael Piaskoski
	Tbaytel	David Wilkie

^{1.} Representing a group of twelve (15) distributors: Centre Wellington Hydro, InnPower Corporation, Orangeville Hydro, Rideau St. Lawrence Distribution, Wellington North Power, COLLUS PowerStream, Lakefront Utilities, Midland Power Utility, Lakeland Power, Wasaga Distribution, Orillia Power, Renfrew Hydro, Ottawa River Power, Niagara-on-the-Lake Hydro and West Coast Huron Energy.

^{2.} Representing a group of twelve (12) organizations: Bragg Communications, Canadian Cable Systems Alliance, Cogeco Cable Canada LP, Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, Allstream, Niagara Regional Broadband Network, Packet-tel Corp. (o/a Packetworks), Quebecor Media, Rogers Communications Partnership, Shaw Communications, Tbaytel, TELUS Communications Company.

The selection was based on the nominee's technical expertise in pole attachments, experience with OEB proceedings related to pole attachments and expertise in cost allocation methodologies used for determining service charges.

An attempt was also made to have representatives from small and large electricity distributors and a balance between the wireline industry, and ratepayers groups. OEB staff thanks unselected parties for their interest in participating on the working group.

The OEB's Approach

The main objectives of the wireline pole attachments review includes an assessment of a number of technical issues and details related to pole attachments, and the review of the cost allocation methodology for setting wireline charges for pole attachments, including the appropriate treatment of any revenues that carriers may receive from third parties.

The meetings of the PAWG are expected to begin in March 2016. Agendas and meeting minutes will be posted on the OEB's website. An expert consultant is being retained to assist with the review. The consultation will conclude with the OEB issuing its revised policy with respect to determining the pole attachment charges.

Cost Award Eligibility

In its November 5, 2015 letter, the OEB indicated that cost awards will be available to eligible persons under section 30 of the *Ontario Energy Board Act*, 1998 for their participation in the PAWG.

The OEB received the following 3 requests for an award of costs from the selected members of the PAWG.

School Energy Coalition; Vulnerable Energy Consumer's Coalition; and BH Telecom Corp.

No objections were received to any of the above requests for cost eligibility.

The OEB finds that the School Energy Coalition and the Vulnerable Energy Consumer's Coalition are eligible to request an award of costs in this consultation.

The OEB finds that BH Telecom Corp. is not eligible for an award of costs. BH Telecom Corp. is representing the interests of its company and not directly representing the interests of ratepayers.

Eligible Activities

Cost awards will be available in relation to participation on the PAWG, to a maximum equal to actual meeting time of the working group multiplied by 1.5 to account for preparation and reporting.

If you have any questions regarding this consultation, please direct them to michael.bell@ontarioenergyboard.ca or 416-440-7688. The OEB's toll free number is 1-888-632-6273.

Yours truly,

Original signed by

Kirsten Walli Board Secretary