

VIA EMAIL AND WEB POSTING

T 416-481-1967 1-888-632-6273

F 416-440-7656 OEB.ca

June 28, 2022

To: All Licensed Electricity Distributors
All Licensed Electricity Transmitters
All Other Interested Parties

Re: Reliability and Power Quality Review EB-2021-0307

The Ontario Energy Board (OEB) is pleased to share with stakeholders information about the newly established Reliability and Power Quality Review Working Group (RPQR WG), its membership and scope of work. This letter also addresses matters related to cost eligibility.

On March 31st, 2022, the OEB issued a <u>letter</u> (March 31st letter) that sets out the OEB's plan for the RPQR, after considering customer and other stakeholder feedback, with a view to developing a comprehensive regulatory framework for reliability and power quality in the electricity sector. The March 31st letter indicated that OEB staff would proceed with the formation of RPQR WG as part of the next steps in this consultation and called for nominations from stakeholders.

The OEB has received nominations from 17 entities to serve as members of the RPQR WG. All stakeholders that indicated an interest have been accepted for membership, as set out in Appendix A. The membership reflects a cross-section of stakeholders including consumer groups, distributors, a transmitter and the IESO. OEB staff will be communicating directly with the RPQR WG members regarding the date and a proposed agenda for the first meeting of the RPQR WG.

As explained in the March letter, the Working Group will focus in the near term on assisting OEB staff in developing enhanced reliability reporting including with respect to Major Events, loss of supply, and outage causes. The RPQR WG is also expected to assist OEB staff in developing approaches for reliability benchmarking and setting performance expectations for utility reliability. Future areas of work by the RPQR WG were also discussed in the March letter.

Cost Eligibility

The March 31st letter indicated that cost awards will be available under section 30 of the *Ontario Energy Board Act, 1998*, and will be recovered from licensed electricity distributors and licensed electricity transmitters. Four stakeholders applied for cost eligibility.

The OEB has determined that the following stakeholders meet the criteria set out in the OEB's <u>Practice Direction on Cost Awards</u> and are therefore eligible for cost awards in this consultation:

- Association of Major Power Consumers in Ontario
- Anwaatin Inc.
- Building Owners and Managers Association
- School Energy Coalition

Cost awards will be available to eligible participants on the RPQR WG and any subworking group(s) to cover preparation, attendance and reporting time in relation to each meeting. The maximum number of cost eligible hours to prepare for, attend and report on working group meetings is up to 1.5 times of actual attended meeting time per eligible participant.

Any questions about the RPQR should be directed to Helen Guo at Helen.Guo@oeb.ca.

Yours truly,

Brian
Hewson
Date: 2022.06.28
16:27:21-04'00'

Brian Hewson

Vice President, Consumer Protection & Industry Performance

Attachment: Appendix A – Reliability and Power Quality Review Working Group (RPQR WG) Members

Appendix A – Reliability and Power Quality Review Working Group (RPQR WG) Members

| Name | Organization | Type of Representative |
|---------------------------|--------------------------------------|------------------------|
| Jim Butler | Alectra Utilities | Distributors |
| Shelley Grice | AMPCO | Large Customers |
| Dr. Don Richardson | Anwaatin Inc. | Customers |
| Ian Jarvis | BOMA | Med-Large Customers |
| Daniel Gent | Canadian Electricity Association | Utilities |
| Rob Bergeron | Cornerstone Hydro Electric Concepts | Distributors |
| Kathi Farmer | Electricity Distributors Association | Distributors |
| Muhammad Usman Khalid | Elexicon | Distributors |
| Matthew Meloche | Energus Powerlines | Distributors |
| Marvio Vinhaes | ENWIN | Distributors |
| Ajay Garg | Hydro One | Transmitter |
| Michael Medeiros | Hydro One | Distributors |
| Kyle Smith | Hydro Ottawa | Distributors |
| Ismail Sheikh | London Hydro | Distributors |
| Chris Watts | S&C Electric Canada Ltd. | General stakeholders |
| Mark Rubenstein | School Energy Coalition | Customers |
| Rob Koekkoek | Orangeville Hydro | Distributors |
| Hani Taki | Toronto Hydro Electric System Ltd. | Distributors |
| Philip Chisulo (observer) | IESO | System Operator |